Reading Habits Tag

I’ve decided that I wanted to start making book tag posts because I’ve seen a lot of other people do them, therefore I will do so :)

Found on…. Book Junkies

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I almost always read in bed, although I love reading on my big comfy chair in our family room. My bed is the most comfortable place in my whole house, so usually that’s where you can find me reading. :) In the spring and summer I like reading outside, as well.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I usually use a bookmark because I have so many of them laying around my room, but if I am in a different room and can’t find a bookmark I’ll use a scrap of paper until I’m done with that book. I also have this weird thing where I don’t change bookmarks throughout a book… ever. If I start with a scrap of paper as a bookmark, it will be the same scrap of paper when I’m done with the book.

3. Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?

I try to always stop at a chapter, but that doesn’t usually work when I’m at school because most of the time I don’t have time to finish the chapter. I usually only get to read in small spurts at school. If I’m at home, though I will always end at a chapter.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Not unless I’m reading on my nook or have a book on my computer. I don’t really want to risk getting my physical books dirty. And it’s just inconvenient when you have to hold the book with one hand and awkwardly prop it open with your other elbow. Just too much work for this lazy girl.

5. Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

I can’t listen to music and I can’t be directly watching TV. I can sit in the room with the TV on, but I totally tune it out. I apparently cannot focus on more than one task at a time.

6. One book at a time, or several at once?

Only one at a time. I think I’ve only ever read two books at once possibly once in my life. I end up reading and finishing one and putting the other aside until I’m done with the first anyway.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

I read anywhere. I always have a book with me and feel lost if I don’t. I usually read in the car when we are going somewhere. (I’m only 14, my mom or dad usually drives) I can read even when it’s extremely loud and it doesn’t bother me, but when I’m at home I can’t have music. hmm.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

If it’s a part I’ve read in my head and didn’t understand multiple times, I will read it outloud to myself. Other than that I only read in my head unless someone asks me to read something. :)

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I NEVER skip pages… ever. It feels like cheating the author. They put their time and effort into those words that you’re reading. I also don’t want to miss out on anything, even if it isn’t important. This tends to make me slower than some, but I find myself enjoying the story much more when I read every word.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I never crack the spine because then you get the white lines and they irritate me so much. This is why I do not buy mass-market paperbacks even though they could be $10 cheaper, I can’t deal with the cracked spines. Even if the book is huge, I will not purposely crack the spine.

11. Do you write in books?

Absolutely not. I have never written in a book unless it was a textbook. I do mark pages with page flags though. No damage with sticky notes :)

I hope you guys enjoyed my first tag! I will probably continue to do them because they’re kinda fun :)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

