Review: Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) – Kristin Cashore

Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) – Kristin Cashore

6114777

Title: Graceling (Graceling Realm #1)

Author: Kristin Cashore

Release Date: October 1, 2008

Publisher: Harcourt

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 471

Source: Bookstore

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight–she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graces as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.

She never expects to become Po’s friend.

She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace–or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…

4 out of 5 stars

Plot:

Graceling is a fantasy book set in seven kingdoms, I believe. I haven’t read a lot of fantasy but everything I’ve read, I’ve loved, this book included. Gracelings, people that are Graced, have different powers. Some could be relevant and helpful, like swordsmanship, or some could be irrelevant, like holding your breath for extended periods of time. Katsa, the main character, is Graced with killing. She is used by the king of her kindom to hurt and kill criminals, or sometimes even innocent common people. She doesn’t realize this isn’t right until she meets another Graceling named Po. Po is Graced with fighting and combat and came to Katsa’s home kingdom in search of his grandfather. Po finds his grandfather there and their journey begins from that moment on. Katsa and Po take off and leave her kingdom behind. I really loved this story. Fantasy usually takes a little bit to get into, and this book did for me. This book took me forever to finish. There are so many names and places to remember, but once you get into it, it’s a great story. I just randomly picked this up off my shelf and I’m so glad I did! I definitely am going to read more fantasy from now on!

Characters: I loved the characters in this novel. Katsa showed that it’s okay to be unique and individual. She shows that you don’t have to have a husband to be respected. Po shows that individuality is a huge benificial factor. Po is my favorite character from this book. I love him. Again, curse the auhor who know how to make perfect male characters.

Who Would I Be?: I would be Katsa because she’s strong-willed and isn’t scared of anyone. She is so stront in wit and physical strength, obviously. She can have a mothering nature if she needs to, or she can break a man’s neck if necessary. Katsa reminded me of Katniss on so many occasions. Both are very strong female leaders. I really enjoyed reading about Katsa’s story.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) – Kristin Cashore

  1. Pingback: Woah, Dere Wednesday (12) | YA Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: March Wrapup + April TBR | YA Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

