Review: The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1) – Sara Shepard


The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1) – Sara Shepard

9266795

Title: The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)

Author: Sara Shepard

Release Date: December 6, 2011

Publisher: Harper Teen

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 307

Source: Library

I had a life anyone would kill for. Then someone did.

I may not remember much, but I know I led a charmed life. Even in death I’m getting something no one else does: an encore performance, thanks to Emma, the long-lost twin sister I never got to meet. Now, in order to figure out what happened to me, Emma needs to become me. But can she laugh at inside jokes with my best friends? Convince my boyfriend she’s the girl he fell in love with? Hug my parents good night like she’s their daughter? And can she keep up the charade even after she realizes my murderer is watching her every move?

Let the lying game begin.

4 out of 5 stars

Plot:

I checked out this book because I loved the TV show, but this was already so different from the show. This is NOT a spoiler. Sutton is dead and Emma comes from foster care to come and meet her, but she ends up finding out Sutton isn’t there. Emma gets threatening notes saying “Sutton is dead. Keep being her… or you’re next.” Emma didn’t want this. Emma wanted to just meet her long-lost twin and have a sisterly relationship with her. Sutton follows Emma around, but nobody can see her. She doesn’t remember anything about her life, so she’s finding everything out along with Emma. All Emma needs to find out is: Who killed her sister? Why did someone want Sutton dead? I really liked this book. I actually think that the TV show is better than the book. Of course I’ve only read the first, but so far I like the show better. I’m very excited to read the others in the series, though.

Characters:

I liked the characters in this book, actually. They are very spoiled and are all rich except for Emma. But because Emma is taking Sutton’s place, she has enough money. Sutton’s friends are very spoiled and big troublemakers. Madeline is a ballet dancer, Charlotte is another one of Sutton’s best friends, and Laurel is Sutton’s little sister. Laurel is one of my favorite characters from this story. She looks up to Sutton/Emma and wants to be exactly like her. I think it’s cute how much she looks up to her.

Who Would I Be?:

I think I would choose to be Laurel from this story because she has so much faith in Sutton/Emma. She wants to be exactly like Sutton in every way possible. Laurel loves her family so much. I want to have a quality like that.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

