Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

8728403

Title: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Author: Morgan Matson

Release Date: May 3, 2011

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 344

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

3 out of 5 stars

Plot:

Amy lives in California, but her mom recently moved to Connecticut with her brother for his rehab. Amy hasn’t driven since her dad died and can’t drive across the country by herself. Roger, a friend from Amy’s childhood, comes along, per request of her mother, and they start their roadtrip. They immediately get off track and that’s when the epic detour begins. They go to Yosemite and on the Lonliest Road in America. They sleep in sketchy motels and Wal-Mart parking lots. Roger is chasing after his ex-girlfriend because he thinks he’s in love with her. Roger and Amy meet amazing people on their cross-country journey and eventually find the perfection in eachother. I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. It isn’t a new favorite, but it was a cute story. I really like roadtrip books and I like knowing all the places they’re talking about. I enjoyed reading this, but I didn’t enjoy the ending. It was kind of a depressing end to a happy book.

Characters:

Amy is a good character, but she is really goody-goody at the beginning and then almost completely disregarding everything her mom says by the end. It was an unnaturally fast change. Roger is a cool character but I didn’t like that the only reason he went was because he was chasing a girl. He was a nice gy by the end of the book, but I just can’t get over that he was chasing his ex-girlfriend. It was really irritating, actually. I love that they knew the favorite drinks of one another, and I also loved that they had nicknames for eachother.

Who Would I Be?:

I think I would choose to be Amy. She’s a little messed up, but she’s a genuinely nice person. I don’t approve of some of her choices, but I think she’s a good character. My favorite thing about her is that she was good-two-shoes at the beginning, but by the end, she was a little more rebellious. Again though, the switch was kind of abrupt, but I still enjoyed her as a character.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

One thought on “Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

  1. Pingback: April Wrapup + May TBR | YA Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

