Review: The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2) – Lemony Snicket

The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2) – Lemony Snicket

471928

Title: The Reptile Room

Author: Lemony Snicket

Release Date: September 30, 1999

Publisher: Scholastic

Format: Hardback

Page Number: 192

Source: Bookstore

Dear Reader,

If you have picked up this book with the hope of finding a simple and cheery tale, I’m afraid you have picked up the wrong book altogether. The story may seem cheery at first, when the Baudelaire children spend time in the company of some interesting reptiles and a giddy uncle, but don’t be fooled. If you know anything at all about the unlucky Baudelaire children, you already know that even pleasant events lead down the same road to misery.

In fact, within the pages you now hold in your hands, the three siblings endure a car accident, a terrible odor, a deadly serpent, a long knife, a large brass reading lamp, and the appearance of a person they’d hoped never to see again.

I am bound to record these tragic events, but you are free to put this book back on the shelf and seek something lighter.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

3 out of 5 stars

Plot:

Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire have had many unfortunate events happen to them. First their parents die in a fire, their house is burned down, and then they are forced to live with a horrible distant relative, Count Olaf. The children are taken from Count Olaf and brought to a nicer family member, Uncle Monty. Uncle Monty lives in a huge house with a lot of bedrooms and a reptile room filled with snakes and toads and frogs from all over the world. There are poisonous snakes and snakes who move half an inch an hour. Uncle Monty is planning to go explore the world and decides to go to Peru. The children are supposed to go on this trip with Uncle Monty and his new assistant, Stephano. The children are suspicious of Stephano and try to tell Uncle Monty what they think about him, but it soon becomes too late. I am enjoying this series. These are the books I imagine myself reading to my future children. These books are fun, easy, and quick reads. I wish I would have read them when I was younger, but I’m still enjoying them.

Characters:

I honestly love Violet, Klaus, and Sunny. I feel bad that their lives have been so unfortunate, but I still like them and enjoy reading about them. When I read this book I imagined reading it when I was younger, and found I liked it and enjoyed it more than the first book. Klaus loves reading, so it isn’t hard to choose my favorite of the Baudelaire siblings. Violet loves inventing and Sunny likes biting things. Some weird hobbies, but I don’t judge.

Who Would I Be?:

I would be Klaus. He loves reading and gets to read all the time. He’s also the middle sibling. I would love to have both an older and younger sibling. He is also the one who thinks everything through. Violet just jumps into everything, which isn’t a bad thing, but Klaus always thinks of the possible outcomes.

Series:

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)

The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3)

The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

 

15 thoughts on “Review: The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2) – Lemony Snicket

  1. I loved this series! It’s so great. I see myself a little bit in all the different characters. I love to read like Klaus, I jump straight into things like Violet, and I have a temper like Sunny, haha.

  2. Wow, this series brings me back to my elementary days, I remember finishing a book in the series in 2 days and begging my mom to take me back to the bookstore to pick up the next one.. Definitely a favorite of mine!

  3. Pingback: Review: The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1) – Lemony Snicket | ♡ Pointe Taken ♡

  4. Pingback: The Reptile Room ( A Series of Unfortunate Events #2) by Lemony Snicket | Fantasy Books!

  5. Pingback: Review: The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3) – Lemony Snicket | Pointe Taken

Leave a Reply

