Review: Password to Larkspur Lane (Nancy Drew #10) – Carolyn Keene

Password to Larkspur Lane (Nancy Drew #10) – Carolyn Keene

9790278

Title: Password to Larkspur Lane (Nancy Drew #10)

Author: Carolyn Keene

Release Date: June 1, 1960

Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 192

Source: Bookstore

A carrier pigeon furnishes Nancy with a clue to a mysterious retreat.

4 out of 5 stars

Plot:

Nancy stumbles upon yet another mystery. Shocking, right? Anyway, Nancy finds a mysterious note attached to a wounded messenger pigeon and she calls in to the Pigeon Registration and finds out it was unregistered. Why would there be an unregistered bird delivering messages, and why would it be wounded? So many questions run through Nancy Drew’s head. She gets ahold of a bracelet with an engraving and a family crest. She takes the bracelet to a local jeweler and asks if he can trace it and see what family it belongs to. She finds out the name and realizes that the woman the bracelet belongs to is being held captive by the “bad guys.” She helps out and finds out where the quote-on-quote “bad guys” are keeping the old woman. She goes there and finds that other old women are being held captive as well. What if she can’t find out who is doing this? I love the Nancy Drew books and always have, but I never read them in order until a couple years ago. As of now I’m on #11 and can’t wait to collect them and read them all. I just have some random ones of the series that I’ve picked up from garage sales, used stores, and book stores, but I can’t wait until I have them all.

Characters:

Nancy and her best friends, Bess and George, are some of my favorite characters, but Ned and Nancy are the perfect couple. I love Ned and I have since I started reading this series. He’s so sweet and he’s such a gentleman. He holds doors and flirts in a publicly appropriate way, and he totally reminds me of my boyfriend. Bess and George are the perfect friends for Nancy. They compliment each other so well.

Who Would I Be?:

Duh. This is a dumb question. Of course I’d choose Nancy. I mean come on. Teenage girl detective, it can’t get much better than that. Nancy is always so brave and she thinks everything through multiple steps ahead. Not a lot of people do this and I think its a wonderful quality to have.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

