Star Rating System

Hello everyone. I have decided to write bookish discussion posts because I was inspired by the bloggers at YA Midnight Reads. The three girls do discussion posts about importance of characters to favorite books in series. I love the three of them and love their individual voices that show through whilst writing their posts. All discussion posts will be found on the Discussion tab at the top of the page. I have decided to do my first discussion post on the star rating system.

I rate books on a scale 1-5 stars. I don’t do half stars or quarter stars because to me nothing can really be in between two numbers. I have only started rating books with stars since I started Goodreads (be my friend!) and found that it wasn’t worth the trouble of writing in there that I only liked it between the 4 and the 5. It is either or. I, personally, find it rather irritating when I read a post or watch a YouTube video where the person rates in half stars. That doesn’t mean I won’t ever read/watch your posts/videos by any means. I love reading posts about reviews of books I’ve never heard of, don’t get me wrong, but the point of the stars is so that people know how your review of the book compares to theirs in a fast and simple way. I have a system for the star ratings written in the back of my review notebook that I look at every time that I write a review.

1 star = barely finished
2 stars = readable
3 stars = liked it
4 stars = highly enjoyed
5 stars = must read

This system really works well for me and I plan on continuing to use it. If I find something I want to change about it, I will do so. I always finish books, so that is the reason I don’t have a DNF section. Some of my one star books are Lord of the Flies and A Separate Peace, but that could have been because I had to read them for school, but on the contrary some of my five star books are We Were Liars and The Fault in Our Stars. (I know, typical teenage girl favorites. What can I say.) I put my rating out of 5 stars directly under the synopsis of the book in my reviews because it’s at the top of my actual thoughts about the book. It took me a while to actually find the best place for my rating so people would see it easily and quickly. What are your thoughts on the rating system out of 5 stars? Are there books that change your reviewing system? Put links of your posts about it the comments below!

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

2 thoughts on “Star Rating System

  1. Hah, I use Roman gold coins instead of stars, makes thing more interesting. Dragon eggs would be nice, too. We are using the same exact blog theme but our blogs look totally different!

  2. Pingback: Pointe Taken Newsletter (9) | ♡ Pointe Taken ♡

Leave a Reply

