TBR (To Be Read)

Ahh, the dreaded TBR pile. I have more books on my TBR list than books I’ve read in my entire life, very sad, but very true. Do you ever feel like you’re drowning in the amount of books you want to read? I’m not talking about the shelves of nicely organized books at your library or bookstore, I’m talking about all of the books you have purchased and have not yet read. As dramatic as it may sound, that’s definitely how I feel. Everyone’s bookish resolutions are: “Don’t buy books. #BookBuyingBan.” or “I’ll use the library more.” Honestly though, I will never be able to succeed at a book buying ban. I go to my bookstore at least once a week because of book club, and there are books to purchase there… and I have money with me usually. It’s unreasonable to set that for myself. I can tell myself to buy less books, which I’m planning on doing. “I’ll use the library more,” doesn’t work for me. Yes, I love reading a physical book, but I love owning them and putting them up on my shelves. I haven’t taken a book out of the library in probably a full year. Yes, I buy all my books and add them to the numerous (almost un-countable) amount of books I already own. Also, the wrapup and TBR posts at the end of each month are a great way to wrap up the month of reading, but are also stressful. I love lists and I love being organized, but I try and set too many books to read then get overwhelmed and just stop reading. A lot of books, not a lot of time. I find that all these books that I’m very excited to read just get tucked away on my shelves, then when I get around to reading them, I’m not intrigued anymore. My goal for 2015 is to lower the amount of unread books on my shelves, and diminish the TBR.

Oh gosh, finish with a powerful (and nerdy) statement. Gotta love book people. ;)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

