Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) – Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) – Cassandra Clare

10644236

Title: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Release Date: September 6, 2009

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 479

Source: Book Store

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Friendless and hunted, Tessa seeks refuge with the Shadowhunters, a band of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. Drawn ever deeper into their world, she finds herself fascinated by — and torn between — two best friends and quickly realizes that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

5 out of 5 stars

Plot:

Tessa Gray gets letters sent to her home in New York telling her to visit her older brother, Nate, in London. Nate sends her a ticket to go, and Tessa finds herself in the beautifully-gloomy Victorian England. When she steps off the boat she’s greeted by a man in a Pandemonium Club carriage, not her brother. Although it’s odd, she decides that everything will be fine, and goes with the man in the carriage. She is taken to a place that’s unknown to her, and meets two women. These women train her, and sometimes torture, her. Why? Tess has Downworld powers. She can change into anyone she chooses if she has held something of theirs. Tessa is held captive by these two women, when suddenly a boy named William Herondale comes and saves her. Will is accompanied by James, also known as Jem, Carstairs. The two boys bring her to the Shadowhunter’s London Institute. She finds out she’s very valuable to a man that goes by the name of The Magister, but nobody understands why. What does The Magister want with Tessa? Why hasn’t her brother shown up yet? Who are these powerful Shadowhunters and why has she been taken in by them?

Oh gosh. Really, Cassandra Clare, really? Cassandra Clare is perfect. Will Herondale is perfect. Jem Carstairs is perfect. I just… those Herondale boys. Mm. I love Shadowhunters and really should have read this book sooner. I have missed the world Cassandra Clare has created so much. I can tell that these three books will be just as good, if not better than, the Mortal Instruments. I love reading things by Cassandra Clare, and Victorian London is so perfect. England and Shadowhunters. There isn’t that much better than that combination.

Characters:

William. Herondale. Your hatred of ducks makes me love you more. The Herondale family is just too sassy for their own good, and it makes me so extremely happy. It is so weird to see Magnus Bane loving up on girls. Just stop. Wait for Alec, just hold your glitter and calm down. Jem is so sweet, he’s adorable and sassy and kind of besties with Tessa. I am so emotionally attached to these characters already and I have only read the first book. I want to see Tessa be with Will, but I also wouldn’t hate to see her with Jem. Will is my favorite, but…. Wessa or Tem? Ugh. DO NOT make me choose.

Who Would I Be?:

Definitely going with Tessa here. She gets to hang out with Will and Jem. Emphasis on the word “and.” You can’t really win more than that. I mean, I get that the whole Changing process is difficult, but I think it’d be really awesome to change shape.

Series:

Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2)

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

11 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) – Cassandra Clare

  1. Lol the ship name for Jem and Tessa is Jessa (: But I’m team Wessa all the way, I love Jem, I really do, but Will is just Will, I adore him. They’re friendship, Jem and Will’s is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. I love this series so much ♥

  2. Pingback: Pointe Taken Newsletter (17) | Pointe Taken

  3. Pingback: February Wrapup + March TBR | Pointe Taken

  4. I’m a huge Cassandra Clare fan as well and, like you, absolutely adore the characters. And it’s been years since I’ve read this, but when I read “It is so weird to see Magnus Bane loving up on girls. Just stop. Wait for Alec, just hold your glitter and calm down,” I couldn’t help but laugh. My sentiments exactly! XD

  5. Pingback: Review: Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) – Cassandra Clare | Pointe Taken

Leave a Reply

