Organization of Books

It’s been a while since I did a discussion post, so I decided ‘hey, why not.’ This post, as you can tell by the title, will be about organization of books. I love reorganizing my shelves, but never know how to do it. I tried the rainbow shelves, but that didn’t really work in my room because I have multiple shelves strewn across my room. I know it looks beautiful, but I couldn’t deal with the series not being with their families. I tried organizing them by height, but again, not all series were together. I’ve tried alphabetically by author; everything you can imagine, but my books aren’t organized in any specific way right now. I have all my series together, in numerical order, of course, but that’s about the extent of my organization. I keep all the books I’m currently reading up on top of my dresser, and all the books we’ve read for my book club on top of one of my book shelves, but I don’t really have a specific way that my books are organized. It partially bothers me that it’s random, because if you know me, I have some slight OCD, but it’s kind of nice to not have to worry about where I’ll put my new books. I just add them to the next open shelf. I haven’t reorganized in quite some time, but now that I’ve written this post the next organization will probably happen pretty soon. Leave a comment below talking about how you organize your books? Have you tried the rainbow? Do you have them organized by height? Series? Alphabetically? Let me know, so maybe I can have some order to my chaos of books :)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

2 thoughts on “Organization of Books

  1. Rainbow never works out for me partly because I don’t own so many books that their covers would make an entire rainbow on my shelf and partly the agony of separating books in a series.
    My bookshelf is organised by my own classy style. I call it classy because it has no sense. Random and Mine and I love it that way.
    :)

Leave a Reply

