Cliffhangers

The book is leading up to the perfect moment, but you realize there are only a few pages left and that there can’t possibly be a resolution to the problem in that short amount of time. You start to panic, then you read the end. Cliffhanger endings are quite possibly the cruelest thing an author can do to you. Especially when you know the next book doesn’t come out until the following year. You just have to ‘ugh’ sometimes when these moments happen, quite honestly. Cliffhangers are the best way to end a really good book because they keep people wanting more and more of the story, so well done authors, but they suck for the readers. What happens next? He/She did not just do that! How can that be the end?! One of my favorite *cruel* endings to a book was City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4) – Cassandra Clare. I finished this book on a bus to a marching band competition. Wow. No one knew what I was talking about, but I freaked out. I was so mad! How the heck could that be the ending to the book?! I had to get home to read the next one AS. SOON. AS. POSSIBLE. Those are the applause moments to the authors, though. If I ever do get to become an author I will be horrible with the endings! I would want everything to end on a happy note because I wouldn’t want to leave my fans stranded on the island of the unknown, but I don’t know, that’s just my take on things. But then you have people like Cassandra Clare who only kind of answer your questions on Twitter. They answer them all so cryptically as to not give anything away, then you just get angry about it all over again. #mylife. But really, as much as I hate *HATE* cliffhangers, they are a really great way to end a book. They make you have questions about things and people and events. That’s how a book should end. If there is a series. And the questions get resolved at the beginning *key word: beginning* of the next book. Just putting that out there. ;)

What are your takes on cliffhangers? What book held your favorite cliffhanger? *WITHOUT SPOILERS* :)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

