Review: Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene (Divergent #1.5) – Veronica Roth

Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene (Divergent #1.5) – Veronica Roth

13615258

Title: Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene (Divergent #1.5)

Author: Veronica Roth

Release Date: April 23, 2012

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Format: eBook

Page Number: 15

Source: Nook Store

#1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth retells a pivotal Divergent scene (chapter 13) from Tobias’s point of view. This thirteen-page scene reveals unknown facts and fascinating details about Four’s character, his past, his own initiation, and his thoughts about new Dauntless initiate Tris Prior.

4 out of 5 stars

Plot:

Al mouths off a little to Eric in the training room and is told to go stand in front of the target while Tobias throws knives at him. He freaks out a little, so Triss takes his spot in front of the target. This story goes through Tobias’s thinking behind everything that goes on in that scene. This novella was supposed to be 45 pages, but 30 were the first pages of Divergent and 15 were the actual novella. I guess it makes sense because the actual knife-throwing scene was really short, but I thought it would be longer. I love Divergent, but I would have liked this book more if I’d read it before reading Allegiant. I already knew how Tobias spoke and thought. This was one of my favorite scenes from Divergent, though, so it was cool from a different perspective.

Characters:

Again, this was just the same scene from Divergent, but from Four’s perspective. I liked it, but I wasn’t blown away. Reading from his perspective did make me want to re-read Divergent, though. Divergent and Insurgent, Allegiant can just go die far away from me.

Who Would I Be?;

I’d want to be Al or Christina to see this from yet another perspective. I think that would be kind of cool since we’ve seen both Tris’s and Four’s perspectives.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

One thought on “Review: Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene (Divergent #1.5) – Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: July Wrapup + August TBR | Pointe Taken

Leave a Reply

