The Pastry Book Tag

I haven’t done a book tag in quite a while, but I was tagged by AnonymousTallulah (Signing On) in The Pastry Book Tag! Check out her post through the link above!

*all the names of the pastries have a recipe linked to them, you’re welcome ;)*

Croissant: A book that everybody (including you) loves.

I love The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices books. I love the world Cassandra Clare created and can’t wait to read Lady Midnight. I have reviewed most of the books Cassandra Clare has written, and plan on reading all the ones I’ve not read very soon!

Macaron: A book that was hard to get through but was worth it in the end.

Like AnonymousTallulah said, this is a really hard question! The Power of Half: One Family’s Decision to Stop Taking and Start Giving Back *review* was really great in the end, but took me so long to read. The message was really cool, but it was not grabbing my attention. At the end of the book I was really into it and wanted to find out what was going to happen. I did end up enjoying it, though.

Vol-Au-Vent: Name a book that you thought was going to be amazing but just wasn’t.

The Calling *review* was not as good as I thought it was going to be. I liked it, but I was expecting to be blown away. I was seeing all the reviews on YouTube before the actual release because of the ARCs and needed to have the book. I got it for Christmas and started it right after we got done opening gifts, but couldn’t get into it! I wanted to love it so much! I am excited to read the next book, but it wasn’t what I was expecting.

Pain Au Chocolat: A book that you thought was going to be one thing and turned out to be something else completely.

Zombies Vs. Unicorns *review* was completely different from what I thought it was going to be. I read this for book club and knew that it was an anthology, but didn’t know it would be that creepy. There were some really creepy stories about suicidal unicorns and zombie children. I, again, had no idea what I thought was going to happen, but definitely not what did happen.

Profiterole: A book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

The Timely Death Trilogy! Shannon A. Thompson herself asked me to read these books, and they were so good! I loved all of these books so much and NO ONE KNOWS ABOUT THEM. *book 1* *book 2* *book 3* They are so cool, and have no hype whatsoever and it makes me so sad that not very many people have heard of them.

Synopsis of Minutes Before Sunset (Timely Death Trilogy #1):

Two destinies. One death.

“Her kiss could kill us, and my consent signed our death certificates.”

Eric Welborn isn’t completely human, but he isn’t the only shade in the small Midwest town of Hayworth. With one year left before his eighteenth birthday, Eric is destined to win a long-raging war for his kind. But then she happens. In the middle of the night, Eric meets a nameless shade, and she’s powerful—too powerful—and his beliefs are altered. The Dark has lied to him, and he’s determined to figure out exactly what lies were told, even if the secrets protect his survival.

Jessica Taylor moves to Hayworth, and her only goal is to find more information on her deceased biological family. Her adoptive parents agree to help on one condition: perfect grades. And Jessica is distraught when she’s assigned as Eric’s class partner. He won’t help, let alone talk to her, but she’s determined to change him—even if it means revealing everything he’s strived to hide.

Croquembouche: A book or series that is extremely complex.

Although I am only on the first one, I can definitely see that Outlander will be a very complex series. I am about 25% through this book and love it, but it takes time to read. You have to think when you read this book, but I know it will be worth it in the end.

Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show that you liked better than the book itself.

I am going to choose The 100 *review* for this one. I loved the actors and actresses who played the characters in the show, and I watched the show before reading the books. That is quite possibly the reason that I enjoyed the show more than the books, but the books did fall a little short for me. The 100 was a really fast read *cough, less than 12 hours. cough, cough* and I did give it 5 stars, but the show was so much better.

Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour *review*. It was really cool to read a book about a road trip, but I didn’t like Amy or Roger. I thought that their relationship was very forced. I really enjoyed the traveling aspect and the pictures in it, but I didn’t love it. It was good to read, but I didn’t love it.

Kolompeh: A book that doesn’t take place in your country.

When I read this question I didn’t think it would be that hard to come up with an answer, but I read a lot of books set in the United States! One of my favorite books isn’t set in the US, though. It is The Wrath and the Dawn *review*, and I can’t explain how much this book surprised me. I read this for book club and I really enjoyed it. It is set in the Middle-East; it was really awesome to read a book from somewhere I’d never read a book about. I can’t wait for the second one to come out!

Pate A Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

I’m going to have to agree with AnonymousTallulah on this one again! I would love to eat anything and everything from Honeydukes in Harry Potter. I went to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando and didn’t get the chance to buy much of the candy, but I wish I could try some from the book! The Butterbeer is really great, just letting you know.


 

I tag Brooklynn @ brooklynnjennifer and Kait @ Kait Gets Lit

Good luck and have fun!


Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

2 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Pastry Book Tag | Ember Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

