Goodreads Goals

As the year comes to an end, everyone scrambles to finish their Goodreads reading goals by the end of the year. People read children’s picture books just to get enough books done throughout the year. I, believe me, have read some small books deliberately at the end of the year in the past, but this year I think I’m going to calm down and read what I want to. I will finish all my review books by the end of the year; hopefully very soon so then I can read some books that I really want to read. I still don’t know how I feel about reading goals in general; is it worth it to put all the pressure on yourself?

I don’t think that reading needs to be a competition. You should read what you want to. I am currently 5 books behind schedule on my Goodreads challenge, and I’m going to try and catch up, but I am not trying to pressure myself. Next week I will have finished my book club book and one of the review books, so I will be up two more. I am putting my classes in school before reading, and that’s just how it has to work right now. (I am about to finish my Composition II class online. WOO!)

I love reading, and always will. I don’t need to pressure myself to read. I will read when I feel inclined to, but if I want to watch YouTube or Netflix I’m going to ;)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

3 thoughts on “Goodreads Goals

  1. Umm, I don’t read short stories toward the end of the year just to finish my Goodreads Reading Goal…*suspiciously glances behind me* Haha.

    I did do that last year to get my last two books in, but since I’m so far behind this year, I don’t think I’m going to stress it. :D

Leave a Reply

