Review: Queen Song (Red Queen #0.1) – Victoria Aveyard

Queen Song (Red Queen #0.1) – Victoria Aveyard

25158257

Title: Queen Song

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: eBook

Page Number: 55

Source: Barnes and Noble

In this 55-page prequel novella set in the Red Queen world, Queen Coriane, first wife of King Tiberias, keeps a secret diary—how else can she ensure that no one at the palace will use her thoughts against her? Coriane recounts her heady courtship with the crown prince, the birth of a new prince, Cal, and the potentially deadly challenges that lay ahead for her in royal life.


5 out of 5 stars

I was just browsing through my Goodreads friend updates, and I saw this book! I had no idea that it existed. Um. How did I not know about this?! I loved Red Queen and read it back in April with my book club. I couldn’t wait to dive back into this series, so of course I purchased it on the Barnes and Noble website with some gift cards I got for Christmas. I immediately told my best friend, Brooklynn, about it because she also loved this book. (her review) She read this short novella on my Nook account, and then wrote her review and was telling me that I had to read it, so I started it last night and finished it this morning. I loved this novella. I have always been a huge fan of novellas; I love getting the extra little pieces to stories. I love the world Victoria Aveyard has created, and can’t wait for Glass Sword to come out. It is seriously going to be so great.

This book was basically about Queen Coriane and her relationship with King Tiberius. When you’re reading Red Queen you don’t see the vulnerability that Queen Coriane has; it’s really great to see that side of her. The way the relationship progressed was adorable, and it was completely different that what I thought it was. If I remember correctly, in Red Queen it isn’t said how Coriane and Tiberius met. I thought that she just won the Queenstrial thing that they do, but he actually picked her. I also liked how Coriane wrote in a diary every day, and towards the end it was more of a worry journal. She wrote everything she didn’t want other people to know in this journal. It was also quite adorable to read about Cal when he was just a little baby. He sounded like he was so cute. :) There were definitely some ‘aww’ moments in this novella.

I would choose to be Queen Coriane, because I saw her vulnerability throughout this. You wouldn’t think you could get that much information from a 55 page book, but you definitely can. She had a decent childhood, and ended up marrying for love, which doesn’t happen in this society. I really enjoyed reading from her perspective, and seeing her side of things. Victoria Aveyard has a gorgeous writing style that I can’t wait to continue reading about in the next novella, Steel Scars.

Series:

Red Queen (Red Queen #1)

Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

