Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

It has been a while since I’ve done a tag; I don’t even remember the last one that I did! This tag is originally from BookTube, and click here to see the original video! Anyway, I’ve decided to do the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag, because I think it’s fun to rant, so here we go ;)

  • 1. Popular book or series that you did not like.

There aren’t a ton of books I despise and rant about, but I really did not like the Seraphina series by Rachael Hartman. I thought it was going to be really cool, but I just really did not like the whole dragon aspect to the story. I think it could have been executed better, honestly. I didn’t think that the writing style was extraordinary, and I just didn’t love the series. Seraphina review. Shadow Scale review.

  • 2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate, but you love.

I am going to choose Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour for this one. EVERYONE loves Morgan Matson, but from the book that I’ve read of hers, I don’t love her. She has a smooth writing style, but I really wasn’t wowed by this book. I love traveling and would like to travel everywhere, but this road trip book wasn’t too great; I don’t know, I just didn’t love it. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour review.

  • 3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with or an OTP you don’t like.

I loved Gale from The Hunger Games, but I also loved Peeta. I understand the reasoning behind Katniss’s choice to Peeta, but again, I loved reading about Gale.

  • 4. Popular book genre you don’t typically reach for.

Hmm. I don’t particularly dislike genres because there is always something I can find that I like in a book. Most always, anyway. I find myself not really reaching for contemporary that much, though. I prefer paranormal, fantasy, and dystopian.

  • 5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I honestly didn’t love Tris from the Divergent series. I loved this series (minus the last book; it should have been a duology) but I didn’t love reading about Tris. I didn’t like that everyone thought she was so special. Yes, she was a Divergent, but she’s just the first one to act on it and be very lucky. Many of her experiences were fortuitous.

  • 6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into.

I have tried reading The 5th Wave a few times, and I have no idea why I can’t finish it. My guess is that I just don’t like the writing style; the storyline sounds so interesting, but I can’t seem to get more than 100 pages in. So I am going to choose Rick Yancey for this one.

  • 7. A popular book trope you’re tired of seeing.

Broken or nonexistent families. I understand that not every household is perfect, none are, but I am sick of seeing kids having no limitations just because the parents weren’t written about. Just give me a few books with a strong family dynamic.

  • 8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

I honestly don’t really have an interest in reading the Lux series. It’s about aliens, and I get that the writing is cool, but I don’t like aliens or reading about them. I really just don’t have a desire to read these books.

  • 9. The saying goes, “The book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer to the book.

Again, I’m going to add The Hunger Games to this list again. I love the books, and always will. I’ve re-read all of them quite a few times, but there is just something about the movies that is so beautiful and raw. You don’t see the emotion that was put into the characters whilst reading the book. I love Jennifer Lawrence, as do many others, but she is an exceptional actress. She is able to show raw emotion, and was perfect for the role of Katniss.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

