Scary Books vs. Scary Movies

So, I just saw the movie The Boy, and I’m not really sure how I feel about it. It was fricking creepy, and now I’m a little paranoid, but it gave me an idea for a post.

Are books or movies scarier?

With scary books you can take a break from reading it, and not be so scared. Also, there isn’t a jump factor whilst reading scary novels. But, there are much more gruesome and awful things written in books that just couldn’t be portrayed on screen.

Scary movies have things pop out at you all the time, and you can hear the different voices and background music to make things more suspenseful. You can actually see the emotions registered on the actor’s faces, and the creepy scenery. Also, the dark. This sounds stupid, but when you’re reading a book that is dealing with it being night time, you probably don’t imagine them in the pitch black it would be. Movies don’t let up with that; if it’s dark, it’s dark.

Although I’ve not read many scary books, or watched many scary movies, I do have the idea that movies are much scarier than books for me. The creep factor is just easier to watch on screen than read on page. In the moment I hate being scared, but afterwards it’s fun to recognize the “scariest” parts of the movie with the people you saw it with.

I went with 4 friends to the movie The Boy, and it freaked me out! It was not what I was expecting… like at all. The end, my gosh. It didn’t get a great rating on RottenTomatoes, but I thought it was pretty decent.

Anyway, all in all I think that movies are scarier than books. How do you feel?

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

3 thoughts on “Scary Books vs. Scary Movies

  1. I can’t wait to go and see The Boy, my friend and I are planning a cinema trip. I think books are much scarier because they have to put an image in your head whereas in a movie, they can just show you something boring which can be pretty boring!

Leave a Reply

