Review: Uglies (Uglies #1) – Scott Westerfeld

Uglies (Uglies #1) – Scott Westerfeld

24770

Title: Uglies (Uglies #1)

Author: Scott Westerfeld

Release Date: February 8, 2005

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 425

Source: Friend

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever…


 

4 out of 5 stars

This book was completely different than I thought it was going to be. I don’t really ever know what books are about before I read them, so it was really cool to jump into this one blindly. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this series, but I just have never gotten around to reading it until now. My friend loaned me this book because she enjoyed it when she read it a few years ago, and I’m glad that I read this.

It took me quite a while to get into this book; I’ve not read a dystopian in quite a while, so the world building was hard to get used to at first. I really enjoyed this book despite some of my annoyances with it. The world building was really awesome throughout the book, and it felt like I was right there with the characters.

The main thing that I had a problem with was fricking Tally not telling the Smokies the reason that she came there in the first place. The only way that she would have gotten them to trust her for real was if she told them the truth. Huh, weird right? SHE WAITED UNTIL THE LAST POSSIBLE TIME TO TELL THEM. wth. Why did you wait that long? David, the love interest, would have trusted you and not been backstabbed if you would have told him right away. And for real, she could have just gotten rid of the necklace. I completely saw what was coming before she did it. Ugh; typical YA.

I am really excited to read the rest of this series! I will definitely be purchasing a box set of this series in the near future. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next books!

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

