Review: The Bane Chronicles (The Bane Chronicles #5-7) – Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

The Bane Chronicles (The Bane Chronicles #5-7) – Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

16303287

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Release Date: November 11, 2014

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 528

Source: Book Store

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.


 

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort (The Bane Chronicles #5)

4 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this story. This is the first one that had any real action. Part of the reason that I love Cassandra Clare is because of her amazingly written action scenes, so it was nice to have a little glimpse into one of those. I also really enjoyed the beginning of the story and how it took place on the day of the huge stock market crash. It was cool to see in that time period even if it was tainted with warlocks and vampires. Again, Camille is one of my favorite bad-guys, so it was fun to see her again. I’m excited to read The Fall of Hotel Dumort and see what Camille has to do with it.

 

Saving Raphael Santiago (The Bane Chronicles #6)

4 out of 5 stars

This hasn’t been my favorite so far, but I loved getting to see Raphael. He’s one of my favorite characters because he is so strong-willed in all of his decisions. I had no idea that Magnus had that much to do with saving him, but he definitely did. If it weren’t for Magnus, Raphael would have gone insane and killed a bunch of mundanes in order to get blood, but he didn’t because he had a safe place to be. I love how sassy he is. I’ve also missed the Cassandra Clare sass levels. I’m really excited to continue on with this novella series!

 

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort (The Bane Chronicles #7)

4 out of 5 stars

I’ve decided that I’m not too keen on the vampires. I never really liked them because they’re so cold. They almost don’t even have emotions anymore, and I get that’s what makes them have a vampiric quality, but I just don’t like it. To me, the lack of emotion makes it somewhat boring to read. I do still like Camille, but I’m confused about the ending of this one. Magnus just has Catarina erase memories from him? Hmm. I don’t know about that.

 

Series:

What Really Happened in Peru (The Bane Chronicles #1)

The Runaway Queen (The Bane Chronicles #2)

Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale (The Bane Chronicles #3)

The Midnight Heir (The Bane Chronicles #4)

What To Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (The Bane Chronicles #8)

The Last Stand of the New York Institute (The Bane Chronicles #9)

The Course of True Love [and First Dates] (The Bane Chronicles #10)

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane (The Bane Chronicles #11)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

