Going Into Books Blindly

I love reading, obviously, but I hate knowing the entire plot before starting a book. A brief synopsis? Fine. Being spoiled? NOT OKAY.

It is basically my motto to ‘go into books blindly.’ I hate knowing what is going to happen at every moment. I hear people talk about books on BookTube and get interested by just hearing a small review of the book. I honestly don’t usually even read reviews of books before I start them. I love not knowing what it’s about and figuring it out as I go.

Of course I’ve had bad experiences with this, but it is okay to stop reading a book if you don’t love it. Yesterday I went to Barnes and Noble and bought Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi. I don’t even know what it’s about really, but I know that Whitney from WhittyNovels on YouTube LOVES this series, and I like books that she likes. I trust her judgement, so I bought it and plan on reading it soon.

The best is just going into a bookstore and reading the synopsis and buying it if it sounds good. It’s okay to not read reviews to make sure you’ll love it. Reading is a fun hobby, so being spontaneous with it is cool.

Do you go into books blindly, or do you read multiple reviews before buying it?

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

One thought on “Going Into Books Blindly

  1. If I’m not sure if I’ll like the book, I find out as much as I can about it first. If I read the inside cover and go, “Wow, cool!!”, then I devotedly avoid hearing anything else about it until I finish reading. :)

Leave a Reply

