Preordering Books

Hello, hey, hi.

I just preordered a book for the first time. Go me! I’ve never actually had books on preorder because I felt that I would just get them and not read them right away, but I just ordered Lady Midnight on my Nook, and I’m so excited. I’ve not been this excited for a new release, really, since City of Heavenly Fire *review*.

Now, I think the reason I’ve never had the inclination to preorder a book is because of the fact that I am very timid when it comes to new books. I have so many books that I have to read, that I feel like when I want a bunch more it just makes me more overwhelmed with the amount of books on my TBR list. It really is overwhelming when you have a lot of books you’d love to read! The reason I preordered this book on my Nook is because I want to have the book read by the 13th when I get to see Cassandra Clare! I get to meet my favorite author and I’m so pumped. I want to buy the copy of Lady Midnight in hardcover at the actual event and then have her sign it oh my gosh I’m so excited.

Do you preorder a lot of books? What preorder are you most looking forward to?

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

2 thoughts on “Preordering Books

  1. No, I don’t usually think about pre-ordering books. There will always be a copy available at a bookstore or online, so it’s not a big deal for me.

    BUT, there are exceptions. For example, I pre-ordered Brandon Sanderson’s “Calamity” because he was going to be speaking and signing at my local bookstore and the only way to get a ticket for the signing was to pre-order the book. I was first in line :]

  2. The only books I pre-ordered (so far) were Harry Potter. :)

    Generally I don’t pre-order, either because of money (I’m a stay at home parent), or because of timid-ness (what if I hate it?!?! and I spent money on it!?!). But I may break my rule of thumb (hmm, interesting metaphor) for the newest William Ritter release in the Jackaby series (out in August). I totally enjoyed book 1 and 2, and am really eager for the third!!

Leave a Reply

