Not Finishing Books

Am I the only one who feels bad when they don’t finish a book? I have always felt bad stopping in the middle of a book because I feel as though I’m not giving the author and the publisher enough credit. But. I also believe that life is too short to read bad books.

Now, not to say that the books I’ve stopped reading are bad in general, but it was a wrong time for me to read it or I just wasn’t feeling it, and that is okay. I have struggled with this my whole life, and have only stopped reading a few books throughout my life. I stopped these books because of myself being reminded that life is to short to read books I’m not loving. I will finish a book or a series if I feel like there are some redeeming qualities to it, but I don’t want to read a book I’m not excited to read in the first place.

I decided to write about this because I stopped reading The Ghost Bride because I really wasn’t liking it. The names were confusing me, the culture didn’t make sense to me, I didn’t like the idea of someone marrying a ghost. There wasn’t anything going for me, so I decided to stop pressuring myself, and just stop. It’s okay to stop because it is just a single book. There are so many wonderful books out there that I’ve not read and will never get the chance to read, so why would I want to read books I don’t like?

How do you feel about quitting books? What books have you quit?

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

2 thoughts on “Not Finishing Books

  1. Oh my goodness….I thought I was a the only person who thought this way!!! I always feel guilty, obligated to finish it….but sometimes that is time you will never get back and not time well spent. Life is to short for books you don’t feel or that don’t stay with you. You can always go back to them and if they are meant to be, you will feel it, if not, let it go!

  2. There have been several books I haven’t finished in the last couple of years…and I used to feel bad about it, but now I don’t. Life is short, and life is busy (especially when you have two active kids to look after). My free time is precious to me, so I’m not going to spend it on something that I really feel I can do without. You’re right, it’s not that the book itself is bad…but if it’s just not to your taste, your understanding, or what you hoped to get out of it, then leave it for someone else that it will provide all these things.

Leave a Reply

