Meeting Cassandra Clare!

Yesterday marked an amazing day that I had been waiting for since the beginning of the year… I got to meet Cassandra Clare! Here is a story of how the day went:

My mom and my friends, Maddie and Andi, and I met at 6:45 and drove the three and a half hour drive to Omaha, Nebraska. I drove the whole way in my silver Jeep Liberty named Luna (as in Luna Lovegood), and we get to the place the signing is going to be at. Alright. So we pull up to the middle school/library and we see about 100-150ish cars in the parking lot and absolutely NO SPOTS LEFT. We were freaking out. It was literally 10:30 am when we got there and the event started at 1:30… How were there so many people there already?!

We walk up to the entrance and talk to a doorman person and he tells us to go to a different door for the signing. Cool. We think that there will be a huge line. We wouldn’t get to meet her. She wouldn’t get to sign our books. Oh my gosh. NO! We came all this way, and we walk over to the door and there are seven girls. Seven. 7. Siete. We later find out that there is a church service happening during the morning. So we meet these girls and fangirl a little bit and talk about books and everything. They asked us how far we were in Lady Midnight. I was the furthest of the group *cough cough* not floating my own boat, but I’m amazing ;)

We sit down and hang out with them for a little while and then figure out we’re at the wrong door. Okay, so we walk over to the original door and sit down in the line that we started. There were about ten of us there until 11:30, and then EVERYONE and their mother started showing up. We were within the first ten people of a crowd of about 400 people. It paid off that we got there early! My mom and aunt (who lives in Omaha) brought us some pizza and bread sticks at 11:45ish and we sat down on the pavement and ate that. It was really great, actually. Props to Little Caesars.

Anywho. So we wait until 1:30, and they let us into the auditorium that the Q&A would be in. Since we were at the front of the line we got to sit in the front row. The event was scheduled to start at two, so by the time everyone was settled and in their seats it was 1:45ish. We all waited and waited for 2:00 to happen, and then there was an announcement saying that their tour bus was late.

It was 20 minutes late. I get that traffic is bad, but for real. Ugh. So we wait the extra 20 minutes. Then the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, and Sarah Rees Brennan all walk into the auditorium and everyone FREAKS out. Oh my gosh it was so great! The three took questions from the audience and answered them. We got some hope for a Malec book. Holly Black said that Will Herondale was her favorite character. Sarah Rees Brennan said that Julian was her favorite. Cassandra Clare didn’t say a favorite, but I think that it’s Jace.

After the Q&A there was the signing portion. We went out into the lobby and got our books signing. I have a book that Cassandra Clare wrote my name in for me! Ahh!

It was an amazing experience, and I highly suggest going to an author event no matter who the author is if you have the chance to! It was one of the best experiences of my life, honestly. My boyfriend, who didn’t go cause not a book nerd, finally witnessed my full fangirl mode. I FaceTimed him for an hour and a half and I’m pretty sure he got in about 15 maybe 20 words the whole time.

OH WELL!

GoSh It WaS sO gOoD!

image2

image3

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

