Review: House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski

House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski

337907

Title: House of Leaves

Author: Mark Z. Danielewski

Release Date: March 7, 2000

Publisher: Pantheon

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 709

Source: Independent Bookstore

Years ago, when House of Leaves was first being passed around, it was nothing more than a badly bundled heap of paper, parts of which would occasionally surface on the Internet. No one could have anticipated the small but devoted following this terrifying story would soon command. Starting with an odd assortment of marginalized youth—musicians, tattoo artists, programmers, strippers, environmentalists, and adrenaline junkies—the book eventually made its way into the hands of older generations, who not only found themselves in those strangely arranged pages but also discovered a way back into the lives of their estranged children.

Now, for the first time, this astonishing novel is made available in book form, complete with the original colored words, vertical footnotes, and newly added second and third appendices.

The story remains unchanged, focusing on a young family that moves into a small home on Ash Tree Lane where they discover something is terribly wrong: their house is bigger on the inside than it is on the outside.

Of course, neither Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist Will Navidson nor his companion Karen Green was prepared to face the consequences of that impossibility, until the day their two little children wandered off and their voices eerily began to return another story—of creature darkness, of an ever-growing abyss behind a closet door, and of that unholy growl which soon enough would tear through their walls and consume all their dreams.


1 out of 5 stars

I’m pretty sure that anyone that says they like this book is a liar, because I literally hated every single second of it. I only picked up this book because we chose it for book club and the pages are really cool. Personally I think that everyone who’s given this book a good rating did it because they felt accomplished and could see a metaphor somewhere in this book. This was the worst book I’ve ever read.

There was no plot, and the characters weren’t engaging at all. It read like a textbook, so it was really hard to get into it. For 3/4 of the time I had no idea what was going on, so I just skimmed for pages at a time, and I never do that. The idea behind this book was really cool that it was passed around from person to person, and it’s about a photojournalist, but man. I really hated this book.

Maybe it was just the wrong time in my life, but I won’t be picking this up again.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

2 thoughts on “Review: House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski

  1. I’ve always been intrigued by this book, because it has a really unique premise. Honestly, I don’t know if I’ll ever read it though; I’ve heard too many negative things about it! Thanks for sharing your opinion, and confirming my thoughts about it.

  2. Sorry you didn’t enjoy this one! I’m super intrigued by it because it’s supposed to be such a cult horror classic. I’ve seen people say how terrifying it is and as someone who is rarely scared by book that’s what’s fueling my desire to read this, haha. I don’t know when I’ll be getting to it because it’s pretty pricey, but I’ll definitely be interested to see what I think.

    Great, honest review!

Leave a Reply

