Review: Fire (Graceling Realm #2) – Kristin Cashore

Fire (Graceling Realm #2) – Kristin Cashore

6137154

Title: Fire (Graceling Realm #2)

Author: Kristin Cashore

Release Date: January 25, 2011

Publisher: Firebird

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 461

Source: TBR Shelf

It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. In King City, the young King Nash is clinging to the throne, while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. War is coming. And the mountains and forest are filled with spies and thieves. This is where Fire lives, a girl whose beauty is impossibly irresistible and who can control the minds of everyone around her. Exquisitely romantic, this companion to the highly praised Graceling has an entirely new cast of characters, save for one person who plays a pivotal role in both books. You don’t need to have read Graceling to love Fire. But if you haven’t, you’ll be dying to read it next.

1 out of 5 stars


I marked this book as “currently reading” on Goodreads in April. As in 6 months ago. I try not to do that, but I couldn’t help myself. I really hated this book. I found it to be so unbelievably boring I could hardly stand it.

I loved Graceling. It was such a cool plot and was written very well and kept my interest the whole time, but the I think I just had too high of expectations for this one, because I was thoroughly disappointed.  There was no plot to this one. Fire was pretty, she was considered a monster, she had a friend with benefits, she moved away, shit went down, and then something somehow worked out in the end for her.

She had a hard life, but then she gets what she wants in the end? Hmm. Idk how I feel about that one.

I didn’t like Fire as a character. She wasn’t as strong as everyone thought she was. I just. I really did not like her. I feel like if I talk more I will just spoil this book entirely.

Just remember, just because I didn’t like a book doesn’t mean it was awful. Just because I didn’t enjoy it doesn’t mean you won’t. I believe in it being the right or wrong time to read a book, and this was probably just not the time for me to read this one. If you enjoyed Graceling, give this one a try; I know a lot of my friends have LOVED this book.

That’s all.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a Reply

