Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) – J.K. Rowling


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)

Title: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)

Author: J. K. Rowling

Release Date: July 16, 2005

Publisher: Scholastic

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 652

Source: TBR Pile

It is the middle of the summer, but there is an unseasonal mist pressing against the windowpanes. Harry Potter is waiting nervously in his bedroom at the Dursleys’ house in Privet Drive for a visit from Professor Dumbledore himself. One of the last times he saw the Headmaster was in a fierce one-to-one duel with Lord Voldemort, and Harry can’t quite believe that Professor Dumbledore will actually appear at the Dursleys’ of all places. Why is the Professor coming to visit him now? What is it that cannot wait until Harry returns to Hogwarts in a few weeks’ time? Harry’s sixth year at Hogwarts has already got off to an unusual start, as the worlds of Muggle and magic start to intertwine…

5 out of 5 stars


Challenges Completed:

2017 Popsugar Reading Challenge

  • A book that’s been on your TBR list for way too long
  • A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited
  • A book with a title that’s a characters name

Winter Biannual Bibliothon

  • BookTube Recommendation
  • Book you were excited for, but never picked up

I definitely should have read this when I read the first part of the series, because I loved it so much. Seriously, these books are just as good as everyone says they are and I am so glad that I read this at the beginning of this year. I can’t wait to finish the series out with Deathly Hallows.

This has been my favorite book of the series, thus far. So much has happened, and it finally felt like I had some answers about what was happening in everyone’s lives. I surprisingly didn’t know all of what had happened even though I’ve seen the movies countless times. I loved being able to understand! My favorite quote of the whole book was…

“I am not worried, Harry,” said Dumbledore, his voice a little stronger despite the freezing water. “I am with you.”

OH MY GOSH. I loved this part because Harry had always said that he’d be safe when he was with Dumbledore, so whenever he was about to be in trouble Hermione, Ron, and Ginny told him to make sure to stay with Dumbledore because he was safe. Then Dumbledore said the same thing about being with Harry and it was just so precious.

I don’t even know how to feel about this book because there were a lot of emotions. I can’t believe Snape. What an awful guy, like wow. I just want to say, though, that Harry and Ginny together was super cute. Even though they were only together for less than half the book, they were just so dang precious together. I loved seeing the way that they interacted with each other, and when Harry said or did something then immediately got Ron’s approval so then he wouldn’t be in trouble. Ahh so cute.

Okay back to the Death Eaters… I feel bad for Draco because he didn’t really know what he was doing. He obviously didn’t want to kill Dumbledore, but he’s still a bad person for assisting. I know he felt that he had no choice, but Dumbledore gave him a choice.

I’m anxious to see what characters turn up in the next book because I want to know how took the Horocrux. I want to see how Bill fares with his werewolf bites. I want to know what happens to Malfoy. I don’t remember what happened in the movies near the end. I think I just didn’t register the reality of it because I had never understood the real meanings behind things. I am also excited to learn more about the Deathly Hallows symbol and the story. Ahh I think I’m going to read the last book by the end of the month. GUYS GO READ THESE BOOKS IF YOU HAVENT.

Series:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1)

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4)

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two (Harry Potter #8)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

