Review: A Mad, Wicked Folly – Sharon Biggs Waller


A Mad, Wicked Folly – Sharon Biggs Waller

A Mad, Wicked Folly

Title: A Mad, Wicked Folly

Author: Sharon Biggs Waller

Release Date: January 23, 2014

Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 431

Source: Library

Welcome to the world of the fabulously wealthy in London, 1909, where dresses and houses are overwhelmingly opulent, social class means everything, and women are taught to be nothing more than wives and mothers. Into this world comes seventeen-year-old Victoria Darling, who wants only to be an artist—a nearly impossible dream for a girl.
           
After Vicky poses nude for her illicit art class, she is expelled from her French finishing school. Shamed and scandalized, her parents try to marry her off to the wealthy Edmund Carrick-Humphrey. But Vicky has other things on her mind: her clandestine application to the Royal College of Art; her participation in the suffragette movement; and her growing attraction to a working-class boy who may be her muse—or may be the love of her life. As the world of debutante balls, corsets, and high society obligations closes in around her, Vicky is torn. Just how much is she willing to sacrifice to pursue her dreams?

4 out of 5 stars


I picked this book up on a whim while I was at the library, and I’m so glad I did! I’m not going to lie, the reason I first picked this book up was because of the cover. It’s beautiful, and simple, and classic looking. I love the yellow dress on the front, as well. Then I read the synopsis, as one does, and was immediately pulled in.

It was set in London in the 1900s. It’s about an artist. A seventeen year old girl poses nude for her art class, gets sent home, finds her muse, is betrothed to a man…

Oh gosh it was so fun to read.

After picking this up from the library I went to Goodreads to see some general reviews, just to get a feel as to what I was about to read, and was a little nervous.

One of the first reviews I skimmed was a girl freaking out because of the first few sentences of the book:

“I never set out to pose nude. I didn’t, honestly.”

And people were so angsty about this. I don’t understand what the issue is. It is supposed to be sarcastic sounding. I feel like sometimes people look into things like this too much. It was that she never thought she would, but she ended up posing. She didn’t regret it at all, and I think that that showed a strong character.

Near the beginning when I found out she was betrothed to this guy, I was really against the other love interest, Will. I was being somewhat judgey of Victoria because she knew she shouldn’t be drawing this other guy, but I couldn’t dislike him. Wow. William Fletcher was my favorite character in this story because he was so happy and so encouraging to Victoria. If it weren’t for him she probably would have given up on her dreams of being an artist. Her family didn’t believe in her, and made it impossible for her to create, so she turned to Will and I’m so glad she did.

Their relationship was so cute. There were so many parts of this story that my heart just felt so happy and full. All of you know the feeling I’m talking about. The one where you almost have to make a high pitched noise because your heart is so happy. Cause yeah, same. I think the reason I liked their relationship so much was because it reminded me of my relationship. My boyfriend is supportive of me just as Will was to Victoria, and it was just so cute.

This book took a turn that I didn’t think it would take, but I really enjoyed it. I was not expecting to get a heavy suffragist theme, but I really enjoyed it. The women were fighting for equal rights, and I really respected that. I couldn’t have been put in Victoria’s place where she had to be prim and proper her whole life just so then she could be respectable in her class. I would be a suffragist because, I too, believe in equal opportunities for men and women.

I really love historical fiction, and this book just reminded me of that. I really enjoyed reading this, and loved that Sharon Biggs Waller had some of the history in the back of the book. I love when authors actually research their writing to make sure it’s historically accurate.

Overall, I really liked this book. It was a relatively fast read, and it put me in a historical fiction mood again! Pick up this book if you want a cute romance and a strong female lead.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Advertisements

Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) – J. K. Rowling


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) – J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)

Title: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

Author: J. K. Rowling

Release Date: July 21, 2007

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 784

Source: TBR List

It’s no longer safe for Harry at Hogwarts, so he and his best friends, Ron and Hermione, are on the run. Professor Dumbledore has given them clues about what they need to do to defeat the dark wizard, Lord Voldemort, once and for all, but it’s up to them to figure out what these hints and suggestions really mean.

Their cross-country odyssey has them searching desperately for the answers, while evading capture or death at every turn. At the same time, their friendship, fortitude, and sense of right and wrong are tested in ways they never could have imagined.

The ultimate battle between good and evil that closes out this final chapter of the epic series takes place where Harry’s Wizarding life began: at Hogwarts. The satisfying conclusion offers shocking last-minute twists, incredible acts of courage, powerful new forms of magic, and the resolution of many mysteries.

Above all, this intense, cathartic book serves as a clear statement of the message at the heart of the Harry Potter series: that choice matters much more than destiny, and that love will always triumph over death.

5 out of 5 stars


I still can’t believe that it took me this long to finally read this final book. I really enjoyed it, just the same, though.

One thing. I think that the first 200 pages of this book were veryyyyy slow. It didn’t remind me of the fast pace of the first part of this series. I understand that it was probably because Harry didn’t know what to do, so Rowling wanted to capture that with her writing style, but it was a little hard to get through. Not much happened at the beginning, but it was great overall. The last half redeemed itself.

I don’t want to talk too much about this, as it is the 7th book, but the Battle of Hogwarts. Woah. It was so intricate and well thought out. Voldemort was ready to be the winner that he believed what Narcissa told him at the end.

SPOILERS

Continue reading

Review: November Snow (Bad Bloods #2) – Shannon A. Thompson


November Snow (Bad Bloods #2) – Shannon A. Thompson

November Snow (Bad Bloods, #2)

Title: November Snow (Bad Bloods #2)

Author: Shannon A. Thompson

Release Date: September 19, 2016

Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing

Format: eBook

Page Number: 275

Source: Author

Fans of Red Queen and The Hunger Games Trilogy will love this new series by Shannon A. Thompson.
When Daniel and Serena unite, their accidental relationship becomes the catalyst for a twelve-year war to continue. Exposing the twisted past of a corrupt city, Daniel, Serena, and everyone they know will come together to fight. But Serena has another battle. After a political rumor threatens their lives, Serena must leave her family and join the political front against her will. To survive apart, Daniel has to separate his love from his hatred and join forces with his worst memory to secure Vendona’s war. But very few of them will survive to see the last day. Bad blood or human, a city will burn, snow will fall, and all will be united by catastrophic secrets and irrevocable tragedy.

3 out of 5 stars


Huge thank you to Shannon A. Thompson for sending me this book to read and review! I’m sorry it took so long to get this review up! I’m a lazy reader lately ;)

This is the second book in the Bad Bloods series, and we’re immediately pulled back into the world of future America, politics, and bad bloods. Serena and Daniel are separated throughout this novel because Serena is needed for the new presidency. Serena has one wish, and it has to be seen through in order for the two flocks to live in harmony. What she doesn’t know, is how much pain it will cause to the others.

I don’t want to say too much about this book, because it is so closely related to the first, and neither are very long. It shouldn’t take too long to read both! I really loved this world of Vendona. It’s future United States, and it was taking place during an election *kind of similarly to what has happened in the recent past with a few not-so-great candidates…* Anyway, one candidate will fight for the bad bloods, one will have them all killed. Serena goes to help to try and make sure that no more bad bloods will die. While she’s helping out, she learns crazy new information that helps both her and the rest of both of her flocks.

There were quite a few parts in this book that should have been elaborated on more. I was confused when Jane was talking about the directions being changed, and figured there would be more said about it, but then there wasn’t. I was a little disappointed with that.

I really enjoyed the vulnerability, friendships, and love that happen throughout this book. I love when the stereotype of men not being able to cry is broken. Anyone can cry; people are human. I really liked the vulnerable side you saw to some characters.

Overall, I enjoyed this duology. I still have to say that the Timely Death Trilogy has been my favorite of Shannon’s books I’ve read, though. Please check out something from her, she’s an amazing author!

Thanks again, Shannon, for allowing me to read this book and for being one of the first authors to contact me!

Series:

November Rain (Bad Bloods #1)

July Thunder (Bad Bloods #3)

July Lightning (Bad Bloods #4)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM