Review: The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4) – Lemony Snicket


The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4) – Lemony Snicket

The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #4)

Title: The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4)

Author: Lemony Snicket

Release Date: April 15, 2000

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Format: ebook

Page Number: 208

Source: Overdrive

Dear Reader,

I hope, for your sake, that you have not chosen to read this book because you are in the mood for a pleasant experience. If this is the case, I advise you to put this book down instantaneously, because of all the books describing the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, THE MISERABLE MILL might be the unhappiest yet. Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumbermill, and they find disaster and misfortune lurking behind every log.

The pages of this book, I’m sorry to inform you, contain such unpleasantries as a giant pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke where his head should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident resulting in injury, and coupons.

I have promised to write down the entire history of these three poor children, but you haven’t, so if you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket


3 out of 5 stars

This was the first book that I borrowed from Overdrive, and I highly recommend using that app if your library offers it! It’s so cool because you just borrow ebooks from the library as if it were a normal physical book. It’s quite cool. Anyway, the book.

The Miserable Mill is the fourth installment in the Series of Unfortunate Events books, and this series hasn’t been enthralling me. I have rated each of these books 3/5 stars, so this one was pretty average for me. I didn’t love it, I didn’t hate it.

I always forget how incredibly short these books are. I finished half of this book yesterday, so it was a very quick read. I enjoy Klaus the most from the siblings. He’s the bookish one who usually defines words, but he was hypnotized for most of this book from the eye doctor.

These books are quite strange in their nature because they’re pretty morbid. They are funny at some points because there are jokes that are for the adults reading to the kids. I thought that there were some funny parts.

This book was about the Baudelaire kids having to work at a wood mill, and of course come across Count Olaf eventually. This was slower than the first three, and there wasn’t as much action, but I look forward to reading more of this series.

Series:

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)

The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)

The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3)