Review: Amulet Volume 6: Escape from Lucien (Amulet #6) – Kazu Kibuishi


Amulet Volume 6: Escape from Lucien (Amulet #6) – Kazu Kibuishi

Escape from Lucien (Amulet, #6)

Title: Amulet Volume 6: Escape from Lucien (Amulet #6)

Author: Kazu Kibuishi

Release Date: August 26, 2014

Publisher: Turtleback Books

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 224

Source: Public Library

A worthy mission…or a trap?

Navin and his classmates journey to Lucien, a city ravaged by war and plagued by mysterious creatures, where they search for a beacon essential to their fight against the Elf King. Meanwhile, Emily heads back into the Void with Max, one of the Elf King’s loyal followers, where she learns his darkest secrets. The stakes, for both Emily and Navin, are higher than ever.

3 out of 5 stars


Emily goes into the Void with Trellis in order to try and save Max from destroying himself and his different memories. They enter the Void with Max, and end up leaving him there. Meanwhile, Navin is fighting against the dark shadows that are consuming the minds of the people in Lucien, the underground city. He has to escape with the aid of his friends and his robots.

Again, because this is a children’s graphic novel there isn’t much to the story. I remember reading the first one when I was a kid and loving it because it was the first graphic novel I had ever read. My younger brother and I read it together and we thought it was the coolest thing. I definitely think that a younger audience would appreciate this much more.

I love the friendships in this book. Because it was written for children there is no romance which is quite refreshing. I love that you get strong friendships because they’re always so nice to read. I am excited to see where Trellis ends up being the new Elf King, and how the new girl of the story ties into the next one.

I know it’s just because my favorite color is blue, but the art that is all in different shades of blue makes me so happy. I love the simplistic art style, and I love that the artist and author weren’t afraid to leave strips of just art without having a narration. I think it added to the story quite nicely.

Series:

The Stonekeeper (Amulet #1)

The Stonekeeper’s Curse (Amulet #2)

The Cloud Searchers (Amulet #3)

The Last Council (Amulet #4)

Prince of the Elves (Amulet #5)

Firelight (Amulet #7)