Review: Steel Scars (Red Queen #0.2) – Victoria Aveyard

Steel Scars (Red Queen #0.2) – Victoria Aveyard

Steel Scars (Red Queen, #0.2)

Title: Steel Scars (Red Queen #0.2)

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Release Date: January 5, 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 77

Source: TBR Pile

Farley was raised to be strong, but being tasked with planting the seeds of rebellion in Norta is a tougher job than expected. As she travels the land recruiting black market traders, smugglers, and extremists for her first attempt at an attack on the capital, she stumbles upon a connection that may prove to be the key to the entire operation—Mare Barrow.

3 out of 5 stars


It’s been awhile since I have read anything from this series, so it took me a little while to remember some details about this world, but after I got into it I felt more comfortable with it. This follows Farley, which made me very sad after remembering Glass Sword…

Anyway. I read this quite quickly as it is a short novella. I’m not really sure if this added anything to the story arc, but I do really enjoy this world. I love the Scarlet Guard, and love that they’re so rebellious. I think Farley is a cool character, and I liked seeing her with Shade. Made my heart happy.

Even though this novella takes place before Red Queen, DEFINITELY read Red Queen before reading this because it would make absolutely no sense if you didn’t understand Farley just a little bit.

This is my third full book for Booktubeathon! It’s going really well, and I’m about to start another book :)

After reading this I’m very excited to see what happens in King’s Cage. I want to be back in this world, and I can’t wait to read about some super cool characters. I remember Glass Sword ended in an irritating cliff-hanger, but I don’t remember exactly what it was. I will have to revisit that ending before picking up King’s Cage, but I am super pumped to finish the series!!

Series:

Queen Song (Red Queen #0.1)

Red Queen (Red Queen #1)

Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

Leave a Reply

