Review: Bunny Drop (Bunny Drop Volume #3) – Yumi Unita

Bunny Drop (Bunny Drop Volume #3) – Yumi Unita

Bunny Drop, Vol. 3

Title: Bunny Drop (Bunny Drop Volume #3)

Author: Yumi Unita

Release Date: March 29, 2011

Publisher: Yen Press

Format: Paperback

Page Number: 224

Source: Public Library

As an impromptu dad to Rin, his late grandfather’s illegitimate child, Daikichi Kawachi has experienced his share of firsts while caring for his little aunt (?). Now it’s Daikichi’s turn to battle the initial wave of separation anxiety as Rin leaves the nest… for her first day of elementary school! Rin’s elementary school isn’t the only place with new faces, either. Daikichi’s office is also inundated with first-timers, some of whom have their eyes on their gangly new coworker! And while father and daughter are experiencing (coping with?) all these firsts left and right, the first anniversary of Gramps’s death also sneaks up on the pair… as does the first anniversary of their paths crossing…

4 out of 5 stars


This has been my favorite volume so far because Rin has grown up a little bit and is talking more. This is a really cute series, and I’m glad that I’ve kept going. There is more plot now, and we’re finding out more about Rin’s biological mother. Daikichi is struggling with work and trying to find a balance in his life with everything that’s going on, but Rin is trying to help with anything she can.

This is seriously so cute. I know that a lot of manga is kind of violent, but this is just adorable. There isn’t much to the plot, but I want to keep reading. I think I might try to watch the anime because I’m enjoying the manga so much. I really enjoy the art style; it’s easy to follow and I like how Rin is portrayed.

Rin is a very real character. She acts just her age, and the way she repeats some sentences reminds me of the younger sister in My Neighbor Totoro. One of my all time favorite movies, by the way…. Highly recommend, super cute.

I really have been enjoying Daikichi because he’s having to deal with raising a daughter, lots of work, but he’s also trying and failing with his love life. It’s funny how bad he is at talking to women. One of my favorite scenes was at the factory he works at, a woman comes up to him and tries to talk to him, and he’s just going on and on about how he’s so bad at talking to women. It’s funny. I enjoy it.

Like I said on the review of the first in this series, if you have any manga recommendations PLEASE comment them below! I really hope to get more into manga :)

Series:

Bunny Drop (Bunny Drop Volume #1)

Bunny Drop (Bunny Drop Volume #2)

Leave a Reply

