Review: Take Back the Skies (Tellus #1) – Lucy Saxon

Take Back the Skies (Tellus #1) – Lucy Saxon

Take Back the Skies (Tellus, #1)

Title: Take Back the Skies (Tellus #1)

Author: Lucy Saxon

Release Date: May 28, 2014

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 384

Source: Friend Recommendation

Catherine Hunter is the daughter of a senior government official on the island of Anglya. She’s one of the privileged – she has luxurious clothes, plenty to eat, and is protected from the Collections which have ravaged families throughout the land. But Catherine longs to escape the confines of her life, before her dad can marry her off to a government brat and trap her forever.

So Catherine becomes Cat, pretends to be a kid escaping the Collections, and stows away on the skyship Stormdancer. As they leave Anglya behind and brave the storms that fill the skies around the islands of Tellus, Cat’s world becomes more turbulent than she could ever have imagined, and dangerous secrets unravel her old life once and for all . . .

5 out of 5 stars


Holy goodness. Wow I have read some hecka good books lately. Maybe I just need to read some sci-fi more often! I LOVED this book. I flew through it, and I have no idea how it’s only a 3.47 stars on Goodreads.

Catherine, or Cat, escapes from her “perfect” government lifestyle in order to get away from an arranged marriage. Cat stows away on a skyship called Stormdancer and meets a crew that quickly becomes her new family. She hides in the wardrobe of a boy named Fox. They slowly become friends, and help out on the ship together. Cat and Fox help with some of the ship’s machinery, and help take from the rich and give to the poor. A little Robin Hood action going on. Cat learns something while she’s on the ship; the government of her society of Tellus have been lying. They’ve been lying for the past eight years. They’ve been taking children in order to create an army to help with the war effort. The war that hasn’t existed for eight whole years. Hmm. Cat, Fox, and the rest of the crew have to find out who is behind this mess, and avoid getting caught in the process.

I can’t recommend this book enough. Seriously, I loved it. This is a dystopian/sci-fi novel set in space. First off, it’s cool as it is, then you throw in an epic world, some awesome characters, a cute romance, and some action. It’s great.

Cat is such a strong main character, and I really loved reading her story. She runs away from home; she escapes from her abusive father and sick mother. She doesn’t want to leave her mom, but her mom tells her to run fast and far. So she does. She finds a new life and pretends to be a boy for a while so she’s not underestimated. Gosh she’s so cool. Then there’s Fox.

Oh my gosh he’s perfect. He has red hair and freckles, he’s strong, he’s a little older than Cat. His name is Fox. How cool. I thought it was ironic how they were both animal names, but that’s just me. Fox was just so cute, and you could tell he was reserved and didn’t want to talk about his past, but he trusted the crew and eventually Cat and it’s just so hecking cute.

THE ENDING. Oh my gosh. I’m pretty heartless when it comes to books, honestly. I don’t cry very often, so it didn’t surprise me when I didn’t cry, but I wanted to cry. My heart was so sad, but happy at the very end. Just… my heart is confused and I don’t know what to do with myself. So. I will read the second book almost immediately, then read the last book when it comes out in March.

Series:

The Almost King (Tellus #2)

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.17.59 AM

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.